The Life We Almost Had by Amelia Henley

Description

This is not a typical love story, but it’s our love story.

Anna wasn’t looking for love when Adam swept her off her feet but there was no denying their connection, and she believed they would be together forever.

Years later, cracks have appeared in their relationship. Anna is questioning whether their love can really be eternal when a cruel twist of fate delivers a crushing blow, and Anna and Adam are completely lost to one another. Now, Anna needs Adam more than ever, but the way back to him has life-changing consequences.

Is a second chance at first love really worth the sacrifice? Anna needs to decide and time is running out…

A beautiful and emotional love story that asks, how far would you go for a second chance at first love? Perfect for fans of The Man Who Didn’t Call and Miss You.

My thoughts

I’ve been a huge fan of this author’s psychological thrillers, penned under her own name, Louise Jensen. So although romance isn’t generally my first go-to, when I discovered that Amelia Henley is the name she is using for this genre it immediately made me want to read it.

Yes, it is a romance, but it’s a completely unpredictable one. We are teased for several chapters that something devastating is coming but I guarantee no one will guess what it turns out to be, or what happens next. If there’s one thing I absolutely love in a book it is being surprised, when even my wildest guesses turn out to be wrong and I get that delicious feeling of walking blindfolded but with someone you trust leading the way. And that’s how I felt reading this book.

I loved all the characters – Anna and Adam whose love story this book is about. Their ups and downs felt real and relatable; Nell and Josh, the kind of best friends we all wish we had in our lives; and Oliver with his own heartbreaking love story.

Highly recommend!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: