The Sister In Law by Sue Watson

51192924. sy475

Description

‘You don’t think Jamie and I have secrets, do you? No, we tell each other everything.’ She smiled. ‘Including your dirty little secret. So, thinking about it, maybe it’s time to start being nice to me?’

THE WIFE: Clare is ready for a break. It’s been a tough year and now she wants to put her feet up. Arriving at the Italian villa for their summer holiday, she decides it’s high time her husband and his family did some of the work. After all, her husband owes her…

THE HUSBAND: Even though Dan had his head turned by someone else, he’s realised the error of his ways. He’s here now, and he says it’s for keeps. Clare can trust him, can’t she? At least he’ll have his brother there, to keep him in line…

THE BROTHER: Jamie is the prodigal child, back in the family fold again, after years of travelling abroad. But when he gets to the villa, he’s not alone. He’s brought a wife, someone none of them have met before.

THE SISTER-IN-LAW: Ella is everything Clare isn’t. Glamorous. Young. Influential. But she knows a secret about Clare. Something that has the power to break the whole family apart.

And there’s someone who will do whatever it takes to make sure that this deep secret never comes to the surface.

An utterly unputdownable, gripping, twisty psychological thriller perfect for fans of Before I Go To Sleep, The Girl on the Train and Date Night.

My thoughts

My goodness, this was a page turner!

Clare’s marriage is already under pressure when Ella, the sister in law no one knew about, arrived at the villa where Clare and her husband’s family are staying for their annual joint holiday. Almost from her first words to Clare Ella makes it clear that she has no interest in being friends, and sets about subtly alienating Clare from her family and causing tension in the villa.

In Ella, the author has created a truly awful but somewhat admirable antagonist. You have to read through to find out her agenda, while becoming more and more angry at her tactics and (in my case) more than a little angry at Clare for her handling of things.

I really liked the ending. It tied things up well and redeemed Clare and drove home that every action has consequences, even when you think you’ve got away with something.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: