The First Time I Saw You by Emma Cooper

45166792

Description

From the author of The Songs of Us. Fans of Jojo Moyes and Lucy Dillon will love The First Time I Saw You by Emma Cooper.

Six-foot-two Irish man who answers to the name Samuel McLaughlin.
Has weak shins and enjoys show tunes.
If found, please return to Sophie Williams.

Before Sophie met Samuel she saw the world in grey.
Before Samuel met Sophie, he never believed in love at first sight.

When they first meet, something tells them they are meant to be.
But fate has other ideas.

Now they have lost each other and can’t see a way back.
But they’ve already changed each other’s lives in more ways
than they could have predicted…

My thoughts

Ah, Emma Cooper has done it again. She has written another unique and unpredictable romance and nailed it! Sophie’s and Samuel’s characters feel so real that they could be my friends or neighbours, and are written with such warmth and love that I want them to be. Samuel especially was such a great character in the way his struggles were captured. I really felt his despair and frustration and also his moments of pure humour when he was able to laugh at himself. I fell in love with his family and their individual ways of coping with Samuel’s situation, as well as their attempts to help him. This isn’t an easy book to read in places, and in fact it is heartbreaking at times, but I had to know how it all ended. There’s so much I’d love to talk about but can’t because I don’t want to spoil it for anyone who hasn’t read it yet, but suffice to say this book put me through a whole range of emotions from one page to the next and had me crying one moment and laughing the next, even if it was through tears sometimes. I absolutely loved her first book The Songs Of Us, and after finishing this one I cannot wait for her third book!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: