The Last Thing To Burn by Will Dean

Description


A woman being held captive is willing to risk everything to save herself, her unborn child, and her captor’s latest victim in this claustrophobic thriller in the tradition of Misery and Room.

On an isolated farm in the United Kingdom, a woman is trapped by the monster who kidnapped her seven years ago. When she discovers she is pregnant, she resolves to protect her child no matter the cost, and starts to meticulously plan her escape. But when another woman is brought into the fold on the farm, her plans go awry. Can she save herself, her child, and this innocent woman at the same time? Or is she doomed to spend the remainder of her life captive on this farm?

Intense, dark, and utterly gripping The Last Thing to Burn is a breathtaking thriller from an author to watch.

My thoughts:

Wow!

This book absolutely gripped me from the beginning and did not let go. Most of the book takes place within the walls of a small isolated farmhouse and contains just two characters, and the atmosphere and tension that is created in this setting kept me riveted and I read it in one sitting.

Jane (but that’s not my name) was imprisoned seven years ago as the victim of a human trafficking ring. Her life of slavery exists within the confines of the farmhouse and immediate surrounds and every move she makes is monitored by cameras, 24 hours a day. Any perceived mistake reaps severe punishment, and her daily life is one of emotional, psychological and physical abuse.

As the book progresses, so does the suspense. With the addition of a baby to protect, and the arrival of a new victim who is being subjected to torturous and life-threatening conditions, Jane knows that to survive she must try to escape but the consequences of failure are unthinkable. The last third of the book was a nail-biting page turner.

My only criticism is that the ending seemed rushed and a little abrupt. Everything was complete, but with the author having taken such meticulous care throughout the rest of the book the pacing at the end seemed off by comparison.

As psychological suspense goes this is right up there with the best.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: