His First Wife’s Secret by Emma Robinson

His First Wife's Secret by Emma  Robinson

Description

The tears began to flow. ‘I can’t do this on my own,’ Emily sobbed. ‘I don’t know how.’

When Emily’s husband dies in a terrible accident, she’s not the only wife he leaves behind.

Because, before their whirlwind romance and Emily’s discovery she was pregnant, Pete had been married to Caroline for more than twenty years. A devastating tragedy had torn them apart. But there was a part of Pete that had never fully left his first wife and a secret that would bind them together, forever.

Finding herself lonely, heartbroken, and forced to face life and motherhood alone – Emily is surprised that Caroline offers her support. But Emily knows she needs someone she can trust and rely on. Even if it’s the woman her husband loved before her.

A tentative friendship develops and their lives become entwined. Their bond grows ever stronger as Caroline steps in to help when Emily’s baby arrives unexpectedly early. But it’s not just Caroline hiding a secret. Both of the women who once loved Pete have things they can never admit, without risking a friendship that might be the only thing keeping them both afloat.

When grief begins to takes its toll on Emily, she feels sure that Caroline is the only person who can save her and baby Dylan… But should she trust the woman he loved before her – with her life… Or her child’s?

An utterly devastating, but ultimately uplifting, emotional women’s fiction novel about friendship, motherhood and loss. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Susan Lewis and Jojo Moyes.

My thoughts

This is another beautifully written story by Emma Robinson with characters who feel genuine. She writes their strengths and flaws, and actions and heartfelt reactions really well. I felt for both the two women who were the main characters, even though they were written from opposing points of view. It’s an emotional read at times as it visits some subjects that are often skirted around, but although are presented realistically, they are also covered with compassion. I think this book could help women unknowingly suffering with postnatal depression to recognise the symptoms and how to get help.
Highly recommend!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: