The Liar’s Daughter by Rona Halsall

57176549. sy475

Description

The call comes on an ordinary Sunday afternoon to say your sister has been admitted to hospital with a serious head injury. But you don’t have a sister… do you?

You’ve never doubted your parents. You’ve loved them without question your whole life. But your stepmother is uncharacteristically speechless, and your father isn’t well enough to understand.

So you get in your car.

Turn the key in the ignition.

Knowing everything behind you is a lie.

Not knowing what lies ahead: the truth… or something far darker?

A deliciously dark and twisty tale of deception, secrets and family ties, The Liar’s Daughter is perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, The Woman in the Window and The Family Upstairs.

My thoughts

I was completely hooked by the end of the prologue which had a decidedly creepy vibe to it, and by the end of the book I was not disappointed. I loved the fast pacing which made the story race along, and the writing just flows. There were new revelations and twists galore so that nothing ended up being as it seemed and I had to keep revising what I thought about the different characters as we learned more about each one via different points of view and timelines. Things that that seemed black and white were completely flipped around! This is a dark and twisty psychological thriller with loads of suspense to keep you turning the pages, and plenty of “What?!” and “Wow!” moments.

Rona Halsall’s books just keep getting better and better. I can’t wait for the next one!

My reviews are also posted in: https://www.facebook.com/groups/FictionCafe

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: